Welcome Back!

Darwin Aquino, Conductor Finalist

David Halen, Violin

The Ashland Symphony Orchestra is back on stage! We open our 2021-2022 concert season with a lifting musical journey celebrating love and fraternity, values that are keeping us together during these unique times. From Beethoven’s adoration sacrifice in his only opera Fidelio, we will land in the Caribbean region to experience the world premiere of Aquino’s exotic Lunga Pandemia, making us reflect in imaginative ways about how the pandemic has changed our lives. At the heart of this sentimental night, our spirits will be elevated with the Ashland premiere of Manuel de Falla’s ballet Amor Brujo (Love, The Magician). We welcome Ohio’s own exceptional violinist David Halen in his ASO debut, bringing us his fabulous and revered performance of Bruch’s passionate G minor concerto.

Fidelio: Overture op.72c – Beethoven
Concerto, Violin, No.1, op.26, G minor – Bruch

David Halen, Violin
Lunga Pandemia – Aquino
El amor brujo – de Falla

Click cover to view program.
Stream-on-demand starts Friday, September 24
Stream-on-demand tickets available through October 23, 2021.


Soloist Sponsor Packaging Corporation of America
Concert Underwriter and Music Sponsor PLUS Ann K. Guthrie
Concert Underwriter Packaging Corporation of America
Program Notes Sponsor Ron & Carolyn Marenchin


Live Performance
  • September 18, 2021 3:00 pm
    Welcome Back! Concert
  • September 18, 2021 7:30 pm
    Welcome Back! Concert
  • September 24, 2021
    Welcome Back! Concert
Guest Artists
David Halen
Darwin Aquino
Conductor Finalist