Structured Storms: Classical Chaos

Isaac Selya, Conductor Finalist

This program features musical depiction of stormy weather and unsettled emotions, expressed by three composers whose music focused on formal structure.
Mendelssohn’s Hebrides Overture uses undulating string figures to express the rolling waves of the water outside of Fingal’s Cave, Scotland, which inspired the piece. Tchaikovsky’s Serenade for Strings presents stormy passionate music encapsulated in a classical formal structure inspired by Tchaikovsky’s favorite composer, Mozart, whose music closes the program. Mozart’s Symphony No.25 is an example of the Sturm und Drang (“storm and stress”) artistic trend that swept through all the art forms of Europe in the 1770’s. Mozart uses jagged, syncopated rhythms throughout. And although most pieces from the classical era would conclude with a happy ending, Mozart maintains the severe mood and minor tonality all the way to the end.

The Hebrides, op.26 (Fingal’s Cave): Overture – Mendelssohn
Serenade, op.48, C major, TH 48 – Tchaikovsky
Symphony No.25, K.183 (173dB), G minor – Mozart

Click cover to view program.
Stream-on-demand starts Friday, April 29
Stream-on-demand tickets available through May 28, 2022.


Concert Underwriter Ashland University
Music Sponsor PLUS Packaging Corporation of America
Program Notes Sponsor Truax Printing

Event Details
Live Performances
  • April 23, 2022 3:00 pm
    Structured Storms: Classical Chaos Concert
  • April 23, 2022 7:30 pm
    Structured Storms: Classical Chaos Concert
  • April 29, 2022
    Structured Storms: Classical Chaos Concert
Guest Artists
Isaac Selya
Conductor Finalist
Event Details