Fanfare for a New Beginning

Familiar, new-to-us, and grand – all words which can describe this opening concert of the ASO’s 53rd season and Music Director and Conductor Michael Repper’s debut season! Finlandia is bold and a perfect overture for what is to come. Many of Florence Price’s works were lost only to be uncovered in 2009. Composed in 1932, this performance of Ethiopia’s Shadow in America may be just the second time it will be heard in Ohio. The concert concludes with Brahms’ Symphony No.2, the final movement of which has been said, “…the blazing sunrise of the most athletic and ebulliently festive movement Brahms ever wrote”. (Quote – Malcolm MacDonald)

Finlandia – Jean Sibelius
Ethiopia’s Shadow in America – Florence Price
Symphony No.2, op.73, D major – Johannes Brahms

Ethiopia’s Shadow in America by Florence Price is presented under license from G. Schirmer Inc. and Associated Music Publishers, copyright owners.


Event Details